The museum is housed in the ground floor of Korgialenios Library that was donated by Vangelis Typaldou bass. The new wing houses two exhibitions. The museum collects studies, classify and inventory history and folklore of Kefalonia from Venetian rule until 1953 with earthquakes.
The permanent exhibition is divided into the sections urban and rural segment, ecclesiastical art and city plan. Separately exhibited the collection of Byzantine Icons Collection Charokopou and Francis and Stephen Vallianou. It is a warm and friendly showroom.
The purpose of the museum is showcasing the history and folklore of the island from the 16th century until 1953, because of earthquakes destroyed many elements of cefallonian culture.